AgSouth Farm Credit Announces 2023 Board of Director and Nominating Committee Results

AgSouth Announces 2023 Director Election and Nominating Committee Results

2023 Director Election and Nominating Committee Results

STATESVILLE, NC (October 18, 2023) – AgSouth Farm Credit CEO Vance Dalton announced the winners of the 2023 Board of Director and Nominating Committee Election.

AgSouth Farm Credit is a member-owned cooperative and relies on their members to help build the leadership that serves them. Open Director seats and the Nominating Committee are voted for by eligible stockholders during the Annual Meeting. This year’s Annual Meeting was held on September 6, 2023, in Greensboro, North Carolina. Eligible stockholders were able to submit their ballot by mail or online. More on AgSouth’s election process.

The 2023 Director Election Results are as follows:

Region 4 – Seat 2 (5-year term)      
Joseph A. Lail
Joseph A. Lail has been a Farm Credit member for 38 Years. A resident of Shelby, NC, Mr. Lail is a grain and beef cattle farmer.

Region 5 – Seat 2 (5-year term) 
H. Frank Ables
H. Frank Ables has been a customer of Farm Credit for 35 years. A resident of Westminster, SC, Mr. Ables is the owner/operator of Chickamoo Farms. 

Region 5 – Seat 3 (5-year term)         
J. Jay Peay
J. Jay Peay has been a Farm Credit customer for 16 years. Mr. Peay is president of Peay and Associates, LLC and is a resident of Clinton, SC.

Region 6 – Seat 1 (4-year term)         
Hugh E. Weathers
Hugh E. Weather is a 40-year customer of Farm Credit. A resident of Bowman, SC, he currently serves as the South Carolina Commissioner of Agriculture.

Region 6 – Seat 3 (5-year term)        
David V. Cantley
David V. Cantley is a 25-year customer of Farm Credit. Mr. Cantley is owner of several farms and is a resident of Holly Hill, SC. 

The Nominating Committee 

The nominating committee slate was elected as presented.

About AgSouth:

AgSouth Farm Credit provides loans for land, equipment, and production agriculture; crop insurance; leasing; and home mortgages. The Association serves counties in North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia and is headquartered in Statesville, North Carolina. AgSouth is an equal housing lender and an equal opportunity provider.