AgSouth Awards 42 Grants to Community Organizations

AgSouth announces the recipients of this years Growing Our Communities Grant.

AgSouth Announces Growing Our Communities Grant Recipients

STATESVILLE, NC – AgSouth Farm Credit recently awarded approximately $200,000 in grant funding to 42 local non-profit organizations and farmers markets for the 2023-2024 Growing Our Communities Grant program. Each recipient was eligible to receive up to $5000. The grant recipients were selected from 276 grant applications received across Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina.  

The AgSouth Growing Our Communities Grant Program is a combination of legacy Carolina Farm Credit’s Corporate Mission Fund and legacy AgSouth’s Think Outside the Store Farmer’s Market Grant Program. With the merger of the two organizations earlier in 2023, the grant program was re-branded and expanded across three states. 

“The Growing Our Communities Grant is another way that AgSouth Farm Credit strives to enhance agriculture and rural communities in Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina.” said Vance Dalton, CEO, AgSouth Farm Credit, “These grants help provide project funding for many great organizations across our territory.”

The 42 Grant Recipients are:

  • Agribusiness Henderson County - Henderson County, North Carolina
  • Alamance County 4-H - Alamance County, North Carolina
  • Appalachian State University Foundation - Watauga County, North Carolina
  • Ashe County Agriculture Facility Committee - Ashe County, North Carolina
  • Axis I Center of Barnwell - Barnwell County, South Carolina
  • Coffee County Young Farmers - Coffee County, Georgia
  • Crossnore Communities for Children - Forsyth County, North Carolina
  • Davidson County Cattlemen’s Association - Davidson County, North Carolina
  • Effingham Extension /4-H - Effingham County, Georgia
  • Farmers Market of Bluffton - Beaufort County, South Carolina
  • Forsyth Farmers' Market - Chatham County, Georgia
  • Fox Ridge Fund - Dorchester County, South Carolina
  • Friends of the Agricultural Museum - Anderson County, South Carolina
  • Gardens of Hope Recovery Community Organization (RCO) - Toombs County, Georgia
  • Giving Spoon, Inc - Swain County, North Carolina
  • Greer Farmers Market - Greenville County, South Carolina
  • Hope Center (Living Word Church) - Catawba/Lincoln County, North Carolina
  • John de la Howe School Foundation, Inc. - McCormick County, South Carolina
  • Kershaw County Farmer's Market - Kershaw County, South Carolina
  • Landrum Farmers Market - Spartanburg County, South Carolina
  • Midway Elementary School - Pierce County, Georgia
  • Montgomery Community College-Health and Public safety Programs - Montgomery County, North Carolina
  • Morningside Farmers Market - Fulton County, Georgia
  • Operation Patriots FOB - Jasper County, South Carolina
  • Orangeburg Preparatory Schools Inc. - Orangeburg County, South Carolina
  • Peachtree Road Farmers Market, a parochial entity of The Cathedral of St. Philip - DeKalb County, Georgia
  • Pelion High School FFA Chapter - Lexington County, South Carolina
  • Piedmont Community College Foundation - Caswell County, North Carolina
  • Pike County FFA Alumni - Pike County, Georgia
  • Screven County Christian Academy - Screven County, Georgia
  • South Spartanburg Fire District - Spartanburg County, South Carolina
  • Southeast Bulloch High School FFA - Bulloch County, Georgia
  • The Boonville Community Volunteer Fire Department, Inc. - Yadkin County, North Carolina
  • UGA Extension - Pike County - Pike County, Georgia
  • Union County Soil and Water Conservation District - Union County, North Carolina
  • Veterans Healing Farm - Henderson County, North Carolina
  • Victory Junction Gang Camp, Inc. - Randolph County, North Carolina
  • Wateree Beekeepers Association - Kershaw County, South Carolina
  • Wayne Christian Academy - Wayne County, Georgia
  • West Point Active Life - Troup County, Georgia
  • Wilkes Soil & Water Conservation District - Wilkes County, North Carolina
  • Yadkin County Rescue Squad and EMS - Yadkin County, North Carolina

More detailed descriptions of the organizations and the projects they are using the funds for can be found at 

The AgSouth Growing Our Communities Grant operates on an application-based grant system. Non-profit organizations may apply for up to $5,000 per year to help in their endeavors to promote agriculture, as well as stimulate their local agricultural economy. Grant applications will be accepted from April 1 to June 30, 2024. Project proposals will be reviewed and grants will be awarded in the fourth quarter of 2024. To qualify for a grant, non-profit organizations must be located within the 147 counties and geographic area where AgSouth Farm Credit conducts business. For more information and to apply, please visit Media please contact Heather Brannen, PR Marketing Manager, at

About AgSouth:
AgSouth Farm Credit provides loans for land, equipment, and production agriculture; crop insurance; leasing; and home mortgages. The Association serves counties in Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina and is headquartered in Statesville, North Carolina. AgSouth is an equal housing lender and an equal opportunity provider.